Christmas

Wow, can you believe that Christmas is just a few days away?  I am so ready.  We’ve gotten a pretty good amount of snow these days, which I am thankful for.  We set up a little tree in our attic a few weeks ago. It’s the cutest thing.  It has the snazziest retro tinsel star on the top. :)

20131219-162120.jpg

I’m loving all the frost on the windows. (And here is my cue to start singing “frosted windowpanes…”)

20131219-162418.jpg

I’m also loving the tastes and smells of cinnamon, maple syrup, fresh-baked pumpkin custard, oranges and peppermint tea.

I’m enjoying listening to Christmas music.  My favorite albums/songs are:

Christmas Stories: Repeat the Sounding Joy  –  Jason Gray

Soultown Christmas – The Soultown Guys?  (This is an album that a relative found a while back, and it’s kind of a hit in our family.)  :)

Vince Guaraldi’s A Charlie Brown Christmas

It Came Upon a Midnight Clear – a Norah Jones single

Britt Nicole’s version of “Jingle Bell Rock”.

This unreleased song by Moriah Peters.  I hope she records this one someday. I love it.  (If you want, you can skip until about 0:53; it’s a clip of a radio interview, so there’s some dialogue between her and the broadcaster  guy before she starts introducing her song.)

…besides that, I also like anything else classic – Nat King Cole, Frank Sinatra, Bing Crosby, whatever. :)

I’m looking forward to spending time with the family, caroling, playing games, opening presents, laughing, eating our Christmas taco dinner, and celebrating the birth of Jesus Christ. What grace that God would send His only Son to be born of a young virgin into this corrupt, sinful world, to die in our place, for our sins, so that we can be reconciled to Him; and that Jesus would be raised to life again, conquering death and evil, and setting us free. Thanks to Jesus, our sins are covered by His blood, if we believe and follow Him. It’s amazing. I wish I could make everyone understand that this is actually true, and that Jesus brings true freedom to us. He brings such joy to my life. This, my readers, my friends, is what Christmas is really about.

Have a good Christmas, everybody!

Leave a Reply

