The Close of a Good Year

2014

Well, folks, as we all know, this is the last day of 2013.  I don’t know about you, but it was a pretty good year for me.

During the course of this year:

I learned many new things, including a bit of JavaScript, more Polish, a bit of French, a few handy tricks on Photoshop, and a couple phototography tips.

I upgraded my iPod, allowing myself to take better pictures.

I expanded my wardrobe a bit (this is sort of a good thing, and sort of not).

I enjoyed a really cool (hard, but amazing) summer job, where I met some new people, grew closer to old friends, cooked for hundreds of people, laughed a lot, made some memories I will never forget, and stayed up way too late.

I learned a bit of piano.  Just a bit.

I decided to pick up writing again – journaling, jotting down memories I want to remember, ideas, short novels, etc.

I decided to make cursive my new natural handwriting, rather than printing.  I like it better.

I drew, took pictures, designed, read, and made things.

I moved my blog and changed it from “Writings, etc.” to “Floral Berry”.

I only got one migraine.

I did some serious home renovation.

God taught me a few lessons, for which I am grateful.  He showed me that I am in desperate need of Him (this is something He keeps showing me), that He is forgiving, that He is in control, and that He is just so amazing.

///

My resolutions are:

to spend less time online and live a more creative, full life (I hate to say this, but I am a little too hooked on Pinterest and Instagram, and this year I want to use those things less.  Way less.  I’m a very visual person.  I love pictures.  Pictures are great; they are windows into another person’s world, but I want to spend less time looking at other people’s lives and live my own creative, full, adventuresome, faithful-to-God life.  And honestly, that starts when I put down the internet and experience reality.  Don’t get me wrong, I’m not on 24/7, but the amount of time I spend must drastically decrease.)

To get out of my shell a little bit.  I’m a little shy and on the quieter side, mostly with people I hardly know.  This is because, like most of us, I am sometimes concerned with what I imagine people might think of me.  This is wrong, and does not make life fun in any way.  So with God’s help, I am going to take these thoughts captive, and be more open, friendly and outgoing.

To challenge myself more – to discipline myself to persevere and keep at it; to not be so lazy.

To start a huge project of sorts.  Don’t know what it’s gonna be, but I want to make something big.

To broaden my horizons in the fields of art, photography and design.

To pursue God with all my heart.

///

Happy 2014, everybody.

One thought on “The Close of a Good Year

  1. Happy New year and good luck with your new year’s resolutions :)
    I’m actually planning on playing the piano! Can’t wait!

Leave a Reply

