A Visit To The Museum

Well, today was a gorgeous, sunny fall day, and some of my friends and I visited a museum.  We had so much fun.  It had been years since I had been to a museum, so it was quite the experience for me.

Firstly, I was very intrigued by the architecture of the building.  It was so beautiful!  At times I felt like I was strolling through Pemberley.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

(this one’s a bit blurry; sorry about that)

My favorite exhibit was the one with REAL paintings.  And by real, I mean ones that actually take effort, look realistic, and depict interesting scenes.  The best part was hearing one of my friends make amusing comments about each one.  “Wow, the titles of the paintings are intense!  ‘Happy and Rowdy Peasants In the Streets’?”  And of a portrait of a guy from the Shakespearean era, who had quite the facial hair:  “I want to have a mustache just like that… but keep my beard.”

FullSizeRender 2

One of my least favorite exhibits was the modern art exhibit.  Ugh.  My friends and I were walking around, saying “Aw, really?  Come on, modern art, come on!”  We were a bit disgusted at the state of most art these days.  It’s so haphazard, so postmodern, so “anything goes”, so effortless.   Some of the things I saw there were pretty disturbing and strange, and some were just ridiculous.  These below would fall under the ridiculous category:

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Is that handwriting, or scribbles?

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

These are dog tags.  Ha, how clever.

For a while we walked through the exhibits featuring artifacts from India and Ancient China.  Though some of these artifacts were very interesting ceramics and intricately ornamented containers (boxes, vases, etc.), most of them consisted of statues of Buddha, Hindu gods and goddesses and Chinese gods, many of which looked very intimidating.  Not to mention all of the ritual items and things that were considered “sacred” or capable of bringing good luck, etc.  It made me sad to think that many people’s lives revolve around such a horrific mindset, and that people would do ridiculous things, thinking it would benefit them.  These people probably lived in so much fear!  I mean, the statues of their gods are not pleasant to look at!  I saw these heavy gold earrings, shaped like coiled snakes.  They were HUGE.  Like, once a person takes them out, their ears would probably hang low for the rest of their life.  Apparently women used to wear them in India, because they believed that they would protect them from harm or something.  It made me so thankful that I have Jesus  — all I have to do is put my trust in Him, and He’s all I need!

And then in one room I happened upon a very antique dollhouse.  Or maybe it was just a miniature to show what houses in such an era were like.  Whatever it was, it was the cutest thing.  I wish I could have taken a closer look at it.  I did get a close look at this one room…

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Isn’t that darling?  (Okay, now that I think about it, it looks to me like a gambling room.  That takes some of the cuteness away.  But all that miniature stuff… it’s so realistic.  Did you see the little book on the floor titled “How To Stop Smoking”?)  :D

I could have stayed there all day… there were so many exhibits.  But eventually we all decided to leave, get Chipotle, go home, watch some Tim Hawkins on YouTube for a while, and get back to homework.  Speaking of homework, that’s what I should go do right now.  :)  Until later!

-Madeline

Leave a Reply

