Swing Dancing, God’s Provision & Cold Weather

2 3 1 4

During these past couple weeks…

I swing danced for the first time.  A few of the freshmen and sophomores at my college had a dance on Halloween (or Reformation Day, which I observe instead).  We swing danced, waltzed, salsa danced, line danced, and there was even this dance off at one point between two of the guys (which was quite amusing).  But I’d have to say that the swing dancing was my favorite.  I felt very 1940s for a good part of that evening and it was fabulous.

I started drawing again.  All because the LORD miraculously shoved a sketchbook into my hands by the means of my roommate.  Seriously, God is so good.  A week or so ago my roommates and I were having a friend over at our place, and we were talking about art, handlettering, prints and the like, and I happened to mention “I’ve been wanting so much to draw these days, but I don’t have a sketchbook.”  To which my roommate immediately responded, “I have a sketchbook!  Do you want it?”  To which I surprisedly replied, “Seriously?”  And our friend was like, “ask and you shall receive!”  So God provided a sketchbook for me that day.  And from now on, that sketchbook will serve as a reminder that God provides for me, even things I don’t need, even before I ask for them!

I challenged myself to draw every one of my classmates. I’m about a third of the way finished.  I posted a picture of the work in progress on our class’s Facebook page, and now it seems like a few people in my class are following the project to some extent.  One of them said to me, “Man, I’m excited for this!  It’s like watching the progression of a building!”  I got an interesting request from another:  “Madeline, I want my picture to be something cool, like of me being on a horse, holding a spear… with [another classmate] on the end of it!”  How about no… haha :)

I finally did something with those two cans of pumpkin in my cupboard. I made pumpkin custard, and pumpkin french toast. It was the bomb.

I fell in love with three new songs: “Carry You” by The Native Sibling, “This I Know” by Crowder and “Old Pine” by Ben Howard. Search them out, they’re really good (if you like indie-folk music). :)

God has been so good, as always. He’s blessed me in so many ways… by all my amazing friends here, by providing me food right when my fridge was about to go empty, and so many others.

It’s getting colder and windier! So excited for winter, and I hope to see snow soon! Yesterday I wore flip flops for probably the official last time of the year. My feet were like ice. On top of that, it happened to be raining. Rain, cold weather and flip flops = NOT a good combination.

Yup, so that’s what’s up!
Until next time!
:)

Leave a Reply

