He Rejoices Over Us.

“Yeah, I’ll have to introduce you to my new girlfriend!” I overheard him say as he talked on the phone with his friend. “I can’t wait for you to meet her! You’re gonna love her.”
I couldn’t help but smile and sigh inwardly as I heard him tell his friend about my roommate.  Though I couldn’t see the expression on his face (I was busy typing out a paper that was due at midnight), I could just sense his joy.

As I thought about this, I realized… humanly love is only a glimpse, a reflection of an even bigger, stronger, perfect love — the love that God has for us. Because we are His image bearers, He designed us with attributes that reflect His: the abilities to create, to know, to love.  This God loves us more than we can ever imagine; so much so that He would give His Son Jesus to take on our penalty for our sins, and give us His righteousness. In the end we will be united with Him and enjoy His glory for eternity.  He is passionately, jealously, and unconditionally in love with us. And as one rejoices over the one they love, He rejoices over us.  Think of that!  He rejoices!  Not because of anything we’ve done, but because of what He did, through His Son, out of His perfect, immeasurable love for us!

The LORD your God is in your midst, a mighty one who will save; he will rejoice over you with gladness; he will quiet you by his love; he will exult over you with loud singing. (Zephaniah 3:17)

What love!

One thought on “He Rejoices Over Us.

Leave a Reply

