Enjoying God Through His Gifts

God is just SO GREAT.  Wow.  These past couple days, I’ve been more aware of how awesome he is, and how he uses his creation to point to himself.  In even the little things in life that often I don’t give much thought to, I’ve found reason to praise him.  When I’m singing, not caring what my roommates think, I think, wow, God, thank you for a voice to sing and worship you with!  When I’m eating sauerkraut (yes, you heard me right.  It’s one of the best things ever), I think, WOW, God, you made cabbage and salt and all the science behind lacto-fermentation, and gave people the creativity to make things like sauerkraut!  Wow!  When I’m working on a lettering project, I think, WOW!  God, thank you for mind-hand coordination (or whatever it’s actually called)!  I can see something in my head, and transfer that image from my mind into reality (on paper) by means of my hand!  What!  When I’m journaling, Wow, God!  Thank you for words to express my thoughts and emotions!  

When we enjoy something that God has made, and marvel at it and his and his perfect creativity, that’s worship.  And seriously, I want to never lose this sense of awe.

I’ve still been keeping up my “thankfulness” notebook, writing down every little thing I can think of that brings me joy and makes me marvel at God’s creativity.  Some of these things (as well as others that cross my mind) are:

  • The Psalms.
  • Hands and feet that work.  So often I can take these for granted.
  • The brain’s ability to memorize information, such as the Bible, poetry, Greek verb forms, music, etc.
  • A voice with which to communicate, sing, laugh, etc.
  • Anything pepperminty.
  • Sauerkraut.
  • Spending mornings at coffeeshops.
  • Personality.  Each person has different characteristics, different senses of humor, different levels of introverted- of extroverted-ness; some are super loud and expressive while others are quiet and contemplative, etc.  It’s so cool.
  • Humor.  Being able to laugh with people, or laugh while looking back at hilarious memories, is an awesome thing.
  • Hymns/modern hymns.  When I was younger, I had a bad case of chronological snobbery when it came to church songs – I preferred the more contemporary songs we sing at church, and not so much the “older” songs.  (I didn’t hate them, of course, I just didn’t have the appreciation for them that I do now.)  Now,  I have such an affection for old hymns, they’re just so packed with Gospel truths.  They’re timeless; the truth in them is still the truth today.  A lot of music that is sung in churches today can be a bit theologically wimpy and rather self-focused.  I like music that is more focused on the Gospel and on Biblical truths.  Of course, besides older hymns, I love many “modern hymns” too, namely those by Sovereign Grace Music, Keith and Kristyn Getty, Rend Collective (I believe they sort of fall under that category, in my book, anyway), Matt Redman, etc.
  • Going out with friends for coffee/lunch and talking about stuff.  I love getting together with the other girls in my life and talking with them about what God has been doing in each of our lives, and how things are going, how we can pray for each other, etc.  I’m meeting with a friend this week, and I am SO excited to hang out with her.
  • Listening to someone play the piano (or any other instrument, or sing, or whatever) who is REALLY good at it.  I am not that musically talented, so when I hear people play who are, it blows me away.
  • Having freshly-washed, full-of-volume hair.  (One thing I can’t stand is greasy hair.)
  • Dreary, cozy, dark, rainy days.  (Yes, those can be pleasant.)
  • Lemon-ginger tea.
  • God’s grace when I really fail (a.k.a. the Gospel.)
  • Homemade whipped cream.
  • Waking up, seeing the sunlight streaming in through the windows.
  • Signs of Spring coming, after a long winter.
  • Foreign languages.  They really intrigue me.
  • Community.  The Church – not as in the building, but rather the Body of Christ – is a wonderful thing.  Christians need each other, we are not loners.  We need each other.  As iron sharpens iron, the same thing happens when believers get together.  I love Hebrews 10:24-25:  “And let us consider how to stir up one another to love and good works, not neglecting to meet together, as is the habit of some, but encouraging one another, and all the more as you see the Day drawing near.”  Community – getting together with my brothers and sisters in Christ – is an awesome and important thing.
  • Fresh pineapple.  Awww yeah.
  • Snowflakes – the pretty, intricate kind.
  • Bacon.
  • God’s Word.  Seriously.  These past few days I’ve just been so blessed to have a copy of the Bible in English (and besides that, a limited knowledge of Greek, which is kind of a nice bonus), and amazed that God actually was pleased to give us his Words, his instructions; knowledge about himself, about Jesus, about the Gospel, about his plan for the world, the Kingdom, how to live, etc.  Wow.
  • Prayer.  James 5:16b says “The prayer of a righteous person has great power as it is working.”  And I have seen this to be true in my life multiple times.

God is seriously SO COOL.

Later!

-Maddie

 

Leave a Reply

