Sometimes Words Just Don’t Suffice

  

Made this just now (the poem is an original too).

You know when you feel such strong emotions – 

uncontrollable joy, 

or immense grief, 

or almost unbearable pain, 

or the feeling that you get when you’re sitting on the couch with a cup of tea, watching the rain fall outside and feeling like all is right with the world,

or a mixture of multiple emotions,

– and you want to describe those feelings as best you can?  And while words can sometimes do a pretty good job capturing thoughts and emotions, often they just can’t.

Sometimes words just don’t suffice.

Sometimes there are no words to describe that feeling of unsurpassable happiness I get when contemplating the Gospel.

And sometimes there are those days when I feel so low, and if I wanted to tell someone about it, I would have no idea how to perfectly describe how I feel.

Sometimes someone is having a bad day, or going through a really tough season, and I feel for them and want to let them know that.  But sometimes I can’t find the words to get that across.  So that’s where hugs come in.

Sometimes I look back at my life and see all the things God has done in my life, and I want to share my story, but I will never be able to share it so perfectly that people would understand EXACTLY how it went, but rather only get a small glimpse of the beauty of it all.  

I suppose though, that finding the right words takes practice – the more practice you get, the better you become.  It’s like a way of stretching the mind, to see just how creative one can be, how realistically one can describe whatever it is they are thinking of.

That was rather deep, I know.  Which is the way I like it.  Haha.

-Maddie

  

Leave a Reply

