Overwhelmed By Grace

About an hour ago I was sitting on my bed, reading a Psalm, when BAM.  I was awestruck by the depth of God’s love for me.  I grabbed my journal and scribbled away my thoughts about this amazing reality.  In the midst of this season full of battling against guilt-trips over my sinfulness and trying to hang on to the truth of the Gospel, God gave me a breath of fresh air.  He helped me to see more clearly.  And so here’s what I wrote (slightly edited):

God loves me.  The Almighty Maker of the universe LOVES me.

O my soul, let that beautiful truth sink in; believe it.

This God, powerful beyond comprehension, loves even me, a sinner who has offended Him, rejected Him, and ran after other lovers (comfort, material things, the praises of man, etc.) innumerable times.

And in this way God loved me, that He sent His perfect, sinless Son to be beaten, whipped, spit upon, mocked, “marred beyond human semblance”, and, worst and most terrifying of all, all God’s wrath was poured out on Him.  The very wrath that God had for me was placed on His own Son instead.

“My God, my God, why have You forsaken me?”  And He died.  Jesus gave His life so that I could live and be set free from my sins.  “He left His Father’s throne above” so that I might be free to approach that very throne, without condemnation, welcomed as His child.

But this freedom would not have existed if He had stayed dead.  He rose again.  Death could not hold him.  He laid it down of His own accord, and He had the authority to take it up again, and take it up He did.

“Then bursting forth, in glorious day, up from the grave He rose again.”

And in coming back to life, He defeated sin, He defeated death, He defeated darkness.  Because of His work, my chains are broken.  I now belong to Him.  I am adopted into God’s family, God as my Father, Jesus as my Elder Brother.  I have an inheritance that is kept in heaven for me.

And God, my Father, delights in me, rejoices over me, and calls me His child.  I am His, and He is mine.

LORD, what is life.  You are so good.  You overwhelm me with Your grace, Your abundant grace.

Leave a Reply

