Summer Goals

13113957_892592140851306_1387473637_n

Summer has been going pretty well so far.  So far I’m still in something like the “newlywed stage” of summer, where all is sunshine and daisies – I have a bunch of free time, and I can do all the things I want to do – and the harder parts of summer haven’t kicked in yet.  I’ll cross that bridge when I get there, and enjoy the “sunshine and daisies” for now. =)

Speaking of sunshine, today I got to meet with one of my good friends, whom I haven’t seen since I was 17, and we took a walk around one of the lakes and caught up on each other’s lives.  It was great; the weather was beautiful, so sunny, and it was nice to get some exercise.  I’m so glad I finally got to meet up with her; we had been talking about it for a while, and now we finally did it.  =)  After that, I went home (with a nice little bruise on my cheek from whacking her car door on my face by accident when she dropped me off at home, and I was shutting her door), did some online shopping for shoes (I’ve been needing something comfortable for my feet; most of my shoes are those super poor-quality ones you’ll find at those trendy stores at the mall… they make my feet feel awful after a couple of hours), finally ordered a pair of Toms, had lunch, and took a nap.  I woke up, read my Bible (I’m currently going through Hebrews, partially because I’ve been wanting to read Tom Schreiner’s Run To Win The Prize, which was recommended to us at school during the class on Hebrews.  I thought maybe I should refresh my mind on Hebrews if I’m going to read it), and made supper (warmed up some curry lentil soup that my mom had made.  Thanks Mom).  So yeah.  Summer is going pretty swimmingly, I’d say.

Today as we were walking, my friend asked me if I had a summer bucket list.  I said I didn’t really, but later I thought that that was a good idea.  I need to make some goals for myself to accomplish this summer (when I’m not working).  So with that, here are my summer goals:

  • Get somewhere in the novel I started.  That’s right, folks, I started writing a novel (or a mini-novel, we’ll see what I have the patience for, and if I can come up with a good enough plot).  There is no guarantee I’ll finish it, but one day the basic idea of a storyline was formed in my head, and I wanted to make it a thing.  I won’t say much about the plot, except that there are the themes of fear, struggling with depression, lies, and then finding freedom and joy, and learning to care for and invest in others even when going through difficulties yourself.  These themes all take place in the life of a 20-year old girl named Sparrow Dellinger.  That’s all I’m going to say about it.
  • Read.  A lot.  I always have aspirations to read over the summer, but it doesn’t usually happen.  This summer, I hope, will be different.  Maybe I can actually finish one of the many books I’ve only gotten one chapter into.  I want to read books of heavy theology, as well as some good fiction (if you guys have any fiction recommendations, please let me know.  Until then, Pride and Prejudice, round two.  Or maybe some Louisa May Alcott).
  • Spend as much time outside as I can, and store up Vitamin D for the winter.  (That won’t be hard.)  Get really tan.  (That will be hard.)
  • Blog often (only if I have things to write about).
  • Be intentional about investing in the lives of others.
  • Saturate myself in the Word.
  • Keep up with my Greek skills.  I should make a habit of reading that old interlinear Greek New Testament I have.  I don’t want a year of hard work to go to waste.

What are your plans for this summer?

 

Leave a Reply

