Incomprehensibly Wonderful.

I lie in my hammock and stare up into the trees above me,

And even further beyond their tallest branches, into the sky.

I close my eyes,

and feel the breeze blow and chill my skin, giving me goosebumps

and listen to the leaves rustling in the breeze

and enjoy the sun’s bright rays filtering through closed eyelids.

I think about God,

and this world that He made–

this world, yes, full of terror

and bombings

and shootings galore

and insane ideologies

and more sin than I can ever imagine

and celiac disease and other awful sicknesses

and pain

and sorrow

…all because of Adam’s rebellion.

Yet, despite all of this, the earth is still full of beauty.

Such as sunshine

and wildflowers

and pretty evening skies

and deep, close friendships – the kind that make your heart flutter with excitement when you’re about to hang out with them, because you care about them that much.

and belly laughs

and children

and beautiful words

and long hugs

and sauerkraut (for some, that might be disputable)

and talent

and anything that evokes awe and wonder in my soul.

God is the Mastermind behind all of these amazing things.

What He has made for us to enjoy is meant to point us to Him, whom, though we do not see or fully understand Him now, we will one day see face to face.

And if earth can be this wonderful, seriously, just imagine how much more amazing He, the Creator of all these things, is.

He is so much better, so much more beautiful, so much more glorious than anyone can ever begin to comprehend.

And this great, powerful, almighty God loves me.  He sent His Son to be the propitiation for my sin, and adopted me into His family.

And I get to live with Him for eternity, and enjoy Him forever and ever.

WHAT.

As all of this goes through my mind, tears well up in my eyes, and I am overwhelmed with joy.  And I have not even scratched the surface of understanding the character of God – there is so much more to know, both in this life and in the one to come.  Further up, and further in.  Deeper and deeper into the knowledge and experience of His AWESOMENESS.

God, I want to know You so much better, to love You so much more, to understand You more deeply.  Because You are just so amazing.

Leave a Reply

