Winter Break, A New Semester, Sonnets, etc.

Hey everyone! My winter break is finally over. It was pretty wonderful, part of the time. A lot of the time it was kinda lonely and uneventful, but other times I was able to get together with good friends and have fun. I went out for a lunch with a friend and we caught up on life and had great conversations. I went bowling twice. I got together with friends, and we played games, talked, laughed and just enjoyed spending time together. By myself, I spent time in the Word, journaled a lot, did a lot of calligraphy, had dance parties all by myself, and I also was able to read a little bit… I picked up some of the books on my shelf that collect dust and never are read, and at least started a few of them. (At one point I read over 1,000 pages over a period of about 4 days, hardly stopping except to eat and sleep… but that, my friends, is a story for another time. I’m glad to be finished with that week… it was pretty hectic, but totally worthwhile and rewarding.)

A new semester has started, and I am so happy to be back! We had our first lesson today, as well as our first chapel session of the semester. Those wednesday chapel sessions are one of the highlights of my week. It’s so refreshing to be able to get together in the middle of a busy, sometimes stressful day and just worship the LORD together as a student body and be encouraged from God’s Word.  Also, this is pretty cool… for our first assignment, we each have to write a sonnet (after either the method of Petrarch or Shakespeare). The assignment is due friday, but it very well may be turned in today (I was eager to start working on it right away). Maybe after I turn it in I’ll post it on the blog. We’ll see. I’m quite happy with how it turned out. If only more assignments were poetry assignments!

Later!

Maddie

 

Leave a Reply

